Indie Invasion: Shovel Knight with Mod Loser!

This is Mod Loser, discussing honestly my favorite game that has been released to the indie scene in recent years. Yes, I know, I’m a little late to the party about Shovel Knight. But I do sincerely love this game; for a large amount of reasons.

For starters, obviously, it would be the gameplay. Its classic SNES and Genesis style combat that comes in with a fantastic retro art style. The multiple spells and artifacts allow for a multitude of play styles, with puzzles and challenges that can be handled in a few different ways.

However, it’s not easy. Not at all. And the game’s bosses showcase this. There are serious challenges, and at times, I’ve found myself even getting angry at the way I fucked up the fight. One example, embarrassingly enough, was the Black Knight in the very first level. That’s right, I was frustrated and found myself getting my ass handed to me at the very first boss fight of the game.

Shovel Knight also has a multitude of DLC, some of it free, involving other optional characters with their own unique stories to play. Hell, Shovel Knight also has multiplayer on Nintendo Consoles. By using the Shovel Knight Amiibo, you can add in a second Shovel Knight to take on the levels and fights together. It does make the game substantially easier, but also more enjoyable, because the feeling of a Zelda-esque game that can be played with multiple people is breathtaking.

This is a very, very basic summary of Shovel Knight and why I adore the game. I don’t want to spoil any major features or story elements that come in the game. I hope you adore this game as much as I, and the rest of the internet, has.

This is Mod Loser, signing off.

Leave a Reply

