Mobile Monday: Super Mario Run (with Mod Syrup!)

Hey guys! Mod Syrup back with yet another Mobile Monday! Today I’m talking about Nintendo’s app, Super Mario Run that is for iOS and Android devices. Now when I first saw advertisements for this game, I had my App Store alert me for when the game came out. You guys should know by now I ADORE Nintendo, and to have Super Mario on my phone felt like a dream.
So Super Mario Run comes out, it’s free, I download it ASAP! It loads, I see the beautiful graphics, and the standard Bowser kidnapping Princess Peach (for some cake? whatever) and I’m totally into it and ready to save her.


I start the tutorial level where it shows you how to play the game. You have 3 major functions: Running, which is automatic, Vaulting, which is automatic when you come to an enemy or small obstacle, and Jumping, which you can do by tapping on the screen.

Later on, you learn how to Double Jump, by holding the screen after tapping, that you have lives by the Bubble Method, similar to Yoshi’s Island with Baby Mario and when you play Co-Opt on Super Mario 3D World (may be more but those are what came to me off the bat), and to Wall Jump, which is the same for any game where you just Jump as you hit the wall. You also have a chance to earn 5 Pink Coins in each level which seems to be the aspect of the 3 Star System in previous games.

After the first World, you return to the Mushroom Kingdom for Toad to tell you that Princess Peach has been kidnapped and the castle has been destroyed. Because the castle was destroyed, the other Toads fled and you have to gather them up. How do you gather them up you ask?

Next, the game takes you to the function called Toad Rally. It’s ‘judged’ by Toadette. The first tutorial run, you go against Nintendo’s account.

You play it like the regular game, but the more cool jumps, vaults, etcetera you do, get you more points and more Toads cheering for you. If you win, those number of Toads go back with you to the castle. You continue using tickets to compete against other players.

Naturally, you go on and continue playing the Worlds. You downloaded this game to save Princess Peach, not race other players! You knock out World 1-2 and 1-3 only to get to the castle at World 1-4 and then you’re told you have to pay to continue. Furious, I deleted the game.

To write this article, I redownloaded it to get screenshots for you guys. I don’t remember this part previously, but now it seemed that you had 2 other ways to continue: Gather 100 Toads from the Toad Rally or Gather 15 Pink Coins from the previous levels (or you can also get them in Toad Rally). I thought sweet, they came up with another mechanic to get people to play!

So, being pretty good at Toad Rally, I collected my 100 Toads. I unlocked World 1-4, defeated the super easy castle, only for Bowser to take Princess Peach elsewhere (of course, it’s a Mario game).

Expecting I’d just have to do similarly with collecting Toads, I was ready to get my next number to unlock the other worlds. Unfortunately, the rest of the game was still blocked behind a paywall.

Given now, on the iOS version, there is a preview image that tells you that you have to pay to unlock the other worlds, I REALLY wish Nintendo wouldn’t have advertised this as a free game. They should’ve just had you pay for it or at least say it was a demo.

Super Mario Run is a really good game, but I’m not going to give Nintendo money for being sneaky like that. I’ll stick to my console games myself. That being said, I haven’t unlocked the other worlds so I can’t tell you if it’s worth it. But due to how short it is, I’d say save your money for a console Super Mario.


– Mod Syrup

Leave a Reply

