Nasty Discussion: Anticipated July Releases with Mod Aria!

Hello All Nasties! Mod Aria is back again to discuss anticipated video game releases! We’re fully entrenched in the dry season, and every online video game outlet is marking down a lot of the games that already released this year. However, I still think that there are some new games coming out that are certainly worth your time. Let’s check them out!

Game Number 1: Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age.

Starting out this list actually not a new game, but a remaster. That would be Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age. This remaster is a complete graphical update for the version of FFXII that only released in Japan called that had the International Zodiac Job System. It has also been given a trophy system.

Personally, I did not enjoy Final Fantasy XII, but the reason why I am anticipating it is that it might actually help me change my tone about the game. I found the battle system tedious and did not enjoy the majority of the characters, but I am always willing to give it another shot. I have not even heard of the Zodiac Job System, so I’m interested to see how that will change the game. The job system that was in the western version of the game was something I already enjoyed, but again, I’m always willig to try something new.

Mostly, I’m doing this for Balthier. Take me away, sexy sky pirate.

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age releases worldwide on July 11th, 2017

Game Number 2: Collar x Malice

Being the otome game fan that I am, I had to include the big release for the summer. Aksys Games is localizing the mystery otome game Collar x Malice for PS Vita this month. And I am incredibly excited for this game.

The game is centered around a girl named Ichika (who is namable). She is a police officer who finds herself attacked one day, and she has a strange collar placed around her neck that is filled with poison. She then meets a group of former cops that are part of a covert organisation set to investigate a slew of violent crimes that have been labeled “The X Day Incident”. Ichika teams up with them, and is able to pursue romantic relationships with five potential suitors.

I had heard about Collar x Malice before Aksys had announced the game’s localization, so I was incredibly thrilled to see it getting an official translation. It is a game that is heavy with plot and sleuthing, so this game has the potential to be fun for anyone who enjoys a good cop mystery. Aksys has stated that the game’s theme is much darker than previous released otome games, so I’m suspecting some poignant endings and gruesome cases to solve. The art is also done by Mai Hanamura, who some otome fans might know from her work on the Amnesia series.  

While there has been no official release announced, it is rumored that Collar x Malice will release on July 28th, 2017 in North America.

Game Number 3: Splatoon 2

The last game on this list is the next big title from Nintendo, their sequel to the popular paint shooter Splatoon. Splatoon is not only a fun game,  but I find it so satisfying to watch the spread of the different colors around buildings and walls as you play. It’s strangely relaxing despite being competitive.

Splatoon 2’s story will likely continue off of the prologue series that Nintendo released about the popular sister squids, Marie and Callie. Though nothing has been officially confirmed yet. As for new features, there as been new weapons for every category (standard, sub and special) added to the game. Jetpacks, too. As for modes to play, Turf War and Hero mode are returning, and there will be some new modes to play as well. Salmon Run is an example of one, which is a team mode that lets you kill massive groups of enemies.

The gameplay is still primarily online, which is both fun and disappointing. I personally think that Splatoon had the potential to be a really fun couch multiplayer game, but the game just does not have a split screen feature. The game does have many online options (like a tournament mode), amiibo support and free DLC, however. So I can’t stay too mad about it.

Splatoon 2 releases worldwide for Nintendo Switch July 21st, 2017.

That’s all the games on my list for July! Did I get your favorite game this month? Or did I miss yours? Let me know in the comments what games you’re excited for so we can hype together. Happy Gaming!


Thanks for reading this and supporting NWG. Until next time!

–Mod Aria/Sam

Leave a Reply

