Loser Reviews: World of Warcraft: Legion

Hey Nasties! It’s Mod Loser, Jackie, whatever you want to call me! I’ve sunk far, far too many hours into Legion, friends; both as a casual gamer and recalling my time spent as a hardcore raider. True, I showed up late to the party, but I’ve managed to complete the story, gear up, and participate in every major dungeon and raid up to the Tomb of Sargeras. How does the whole thing measure up? Well…

Gameplay: Utterly stellar. I love the honor traits for PVP as well as unlocking them by getting honor points as PVP experience, I adore doing daily world quests to get fairly leveled gear to participate in heroic dungeons and raid finder. I adore the artifact weapons and upgrading them, as well as unlocking unique customization in their appearance. The Demon Hunter class runs like a dream and is still complex enough to make hardcore players stay interested.

In short, the gameplay is the best WoW has been, and that extends to dungeons and raids. The mechanic heavy boss fights that require communication and teamwork on higher difficulty is welcome, as it makes guilds and friend groups potent! That being said, for people who just want to play for the story and see the content, Raid Finder is fun and simpler, so there’s no threat of being too overwhelmed.

The gameplay for Legion, in my opinion, gets a 9/10. I would slightly nerf the Demon Hunter as the class is too powerful to be fair to other current DPS and Tank classes, but all in all I enjoy the gameplay thoroughly. I’m also trying to avoid spoilers, as raids and dungeons for those who pay attention are VERY lore heavy! Speaking of lore…

Story and Characters: The story is so, so much more interesting to me than the past two expansions. I found WOD and MOP to be very basic and more cliched stories, but I’ve been very impressed with Legion. Bringing back fan favorites like the Lich King and Illidan Stormrage was interesting, but making them relevant to the Legion’s invasion, delving deeper into the backstories of the core cast, and seeing new developments made me ecstatic.

To start with, Sylvanas is now the Warchief of the Horde and this is the first real female faction leader. She’s not mocked; she’s empowered throughout the story revolving around her. Sylvanas is a well made character with flaws, desires and power, and I’m very glad there was emphasis on her growth thus far. I also like seeing Maiev become relevant once more, as well as Illidan.

The story has been good for an MMO, and through the story alone I was able to hit the level cap, which was welcome to me. I would have liked a more detailed or heavily engrossing story outside of the raids, dungeons and basic quests, but unfortunately, every MMO suffers from a somewhat weak to moderate story. I give it an 8/10. Thus far, its done very well despite limitations of the medium.

Visual/Audio Art: The music isn’t much to write home about unfortunately. The same old soundtracks with some various orchestral sound. There was nothing significantly overwhelming. The visual art, while very good and detailed in many ways, is very, very limited by the core of WoW. The game’s graphics and physics engine was developed originally in 2003, meaning that it is now fourteen years old. Old isn’t necessarily bad, but I will warn you that if a cartoonish art style isn’t your thing, you won’t enjoy the graphic design of Legion. As a whole, I give the art a 7/10.

Online/DLC: Well. Legion is DLC, gives you access to Demon Hunter, a free character boost to 100, and the entire expansion as a whole, for $49.99. I like the price and I have had an ENORMOUS amount of content for the price. Servers are the same as always: usually very good unless there’s a large event going on! Raid Finder and Dungeon Finder are still here making it easy for single players, while Group Finder exists so you can seek out other players! Thankfully, the Class Halls don’t function like Garrisons from Draenor and as such; you can’t do everything yourself if you want to prepare for serious raiding. You will be encouraged to get a guild.

As a whole? I give the online a 9/10. This is exactly what an MMO Expansion should be.

So what is our final score, nasties? It’s roughly an 8/10. A very good expansion for long time WoW fans and beyond worth a purchase if you’re invested in the game.

This has been Mod Loser, Jackie, whatever you want to call me, signing off!

Leave a Reply

